Breathe and Be Grateful

We just entered a brand new chapter in this new year! The question is how do you feel?

happy? delighted? excited? encouraged? blessed? grateful? content?  disturbed? unhappy? troubled? discouraged? hopeless? or nothing change, everything just the same as it is?

I’ll start with mine. I feel 2013 was too good to be left behind, but I’m looking forward for 2014. Why? Because I’m excited to see amazing things the God will do in 2014.

Wait for a second, how do you know God will do amazing things in 2014, what about 2013? Don’t you think it was a mess in 2013? Economy breakdown, Government shutdown, Slow moving investment, My love life sucks, Someone who’s close to me left me, I failed in math class again, etc ………. You must be questioning where is God?

As a matter of fact, I was the same like you. I even asked God where He is because I felt left behind. Sure there were many good things in 2013, but approaching the end of the year, everything was like a mess. I felt that God forgot about me.

There were many things that concern me last year, but there was one that I want to share with you.

It was my business. As you know, I’m 21 and I’m an entrepreneur. How do you feel when you’re 21, just graduated from college, running a new family business? I felt that I am not credible enough to other people. I’m questioning my own credibility. However, I remembered just before I graduated, one of my professors gave me this bible verse, like he know how I felt that time.

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity. – 1 Timothy 4:12

I looked back to this verse and realize that God doesn’t care how old you are because everyone can set an example. So I convinced myself, with God I can do my job. He will enable me to run my family business. Well, things were not that easy. It came to a legality problem. In some countries, gaining a permission to run a business is the hardest. I admit there were many shortcuts but if you want it to do it in the right way, then you know it won’t be easy. The permission got rejected by one person (believe me only one among many others) in a court, so we appealed. The final word came out and it was still the same : rejected. I prayed to God and I surrendered. I know God has his plan than better for me. In less than 3 hours, the decision has been changed. The major of the town called and said there is nothing to worry about because he will handle it. I was speechless, yet very grateful.

God helps me on the very last-minute when my hope were gone. I learned to always be grateful in every situation. You might be on the bottom of your life history, or you might be on the top of it but it’s not about where you are now, but it’s about how you appreciate where you are now and how you can create good things from this point onward. 

Most of the time, we look at big bad things first and forget about the good little stuff we have. Economy breakdown and slow investment? So what? It incurred losses as my portfolio went down, but it will go up again. In fact, isn’t it time to look ahead to the future and buy some prospective stocks more again? Failed classes? Well, you get to be the smartest in class next semester since you already took that class. Perhaps you will learn more by helping your juniors? Broken heart, I wanna die? Tell you what, I stop seeing a guy who is used to be so close to me. No one predict that I was going to end it, everyone thought that we’ll be a couple soon, a lovey dovey one, but NO. I feel relieve now because I opened my eyes. I will tell you later about this story. But my point is, there is always something to be grateful for, even small things (like now, you’re breathing) can make a big difference.

God will never harm you. He won’t forget about you no matter how small you are. God’s plan might not be your plan but note this :

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

What a guarantee!

Life a good life in God , folks! Another new year, Another new day, Another Chance, Be Grateful!

Happy New Year!

~girl in pink dress

Leave a Reply

